Royal Marines Training at Lympstone Devon

Royal Marines Training at Lympstone Devon Including the Mud Run on the Exe Estuary.

Wow, these guys are tough, I knew what I was going to photograph was going to be pretty hardcore but this was a real eye opener.

At one point just after school I considered joining the Marines but I'm not sure I would have made it after seeing this, these guys are made of different stuff.

What the pictures don't show is the fact that most of the exercises shown are done over and over again pushing these guys to the absolute limits of mental and physical exertion.

I actually got stuck in the mud and at one point and started to panic as the Marines had moved on about 200 meters further into the estuary leaving me stuck waist deep in stinking mud trying desperately to keep my camera kit clean.

I managed to muster a little strength and take baby steps back to the shore and saved myself a little dignity by not having to be rescued.

And thinking I was ok with just water proof trousers was a mistake as I was completely covered, and had to drive the 30 miles home in my pants.

It was all worth it though, to witness and record what helps form the Royal Marines, one of the most if not the most respected military units world-wide.

One of the best things I have had the privilege to photograph, Please take a look at More of the pictures Here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.