Capital adventures

By marchmont

Long farewell

I felt quite discombobulated today. A holiday where so much was closed, not Margiotta though.

The State Funeral was on TV for 8 hours live transmission. I worked in the front room with the TV on. The lack of commentary was welcome as was the fact that the cameras did not Zoom in on the faces of the bereaved family and the other mourners. A sea of black meant it was difficult to recognise people. The beat of the music and the marching feet as the procession travelled to Hyde Park Corner was like a meditation. And then Princess Anne and her husband continued her role of accompanying her mother on her last journey 

Me, I went off and cut the grass, talked to neighbours outside, envied the fact that next door's workmen were working, mine was not and pondered how to get all the plants to the front as the garage is stappit fu'. Luckily that task is now postponed to Thursday. Earlier M and H had been here to confirm the Mini is dead. And it was a cloudy, but mild day.

I wasn't going to watch the service in Windsor but I was glad I did. That was even more moving. 

I had two Zoom meetings which were both productive and then changed my mind about dinner. 

Despite having not done much I was tired, worry and stress are affecting me so I took my hwb to bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.