barbarathomson

By barbarathomson

Dinghy Instructors' Class

After a full-on week of learning in early September, here is a line-up of the brand-new Dinghy Instructors with their trainer, Richard. The Royal Yachting Association course was conducted at Bassenthwaite Sailing club over the week and despite nerves and steep learning curves we all passed. The young ones all sailed through but thank goodness the winds were very kind with no hoolies, or I would have been scuppered. I’ve really enjoyed being an Assistant Instructor for the past two years but no-one could say I’m a brilliant sailor.  Not for nothing have I been called the capsize queen! I just enjoy telling people to do as I say and not do as I do.  However, with the constant effort of Neil to instil some skills over the past years and the encouragement of Ant in putting me forward and Richard (of Galloway Activity Centre) for being an inspired teacher, I am now a rather surprised sailing instructor.
Like the driving test – the real learning starts from now on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.