CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

John Marjoram on voting day

I walked down to our polling booth at the Trinity Rooms, the local hall for the Trinity ward. It was approaching 7pm and I still needed to make supper for Woodpeckers so time was precious. I took my camera which once out walking I felt rather stupid about with a long lens attached. As I passed the hospital. I spotted John Marjoram at the end of the road and immediately knew that he was out and about trying to get the very last vote in for the Green Party.

John has been a pivot of the Green Party, not only in Stroud but also this whole area of Gloucestershire for many years. It was he who approached me about standing for election as a town councillor some years ago now. He knew I wasn't a Green, although i appreciate most of what they are trying to achieve. I am independent which I find a much more responsive position so I can vote when necessary for what I believe is best for the community. I did get elected in Trinity Ward for the Town Council and thus am very involved with John who is the deputy mayor at present having been mayor for many years previously.

The election here is for County Councillors and Sarah Lunnon is the sitting Green councillor on the county Council, the only Green. She does a tremendous job there representing Stroud, and often attends our town council meetings to inform us of what is going on at the County level which is very useful.

I followed John tonight as I know he doesn't mind being photographed. He was heading off down Horns Road to rally the last voters for the cause. I called after him and he turned around, had a quick chat with me about how it was going and agreed to let me photograph him. As I took the three pictures he told me 'we are going to win'!

Woodpecker's blip today was taken outside his house just down the road, where I have blipped him several times before. she bumped into him earlier this morning and he was in action even then! A good man and as a fellow town councillor mentioned to me tonight, outside the polling booth, he is 'the king of Stroud'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.