Authors at Mainstreet

A strange day...

Before breakfast I cooked two fish pies and brewed a batch of root vegetable soup. I felt OK.

After breakfast, Mr hazelh and I travelled by car to St Boswells to collect Mummy hazelh for a visit to Edinburgh. We met her and my not-so-little-sister in the café of the wonderful Mainstreet Trading Company. I had planned to do the driving, but Mr hazelh took the wheel because I didn't feel well enough to concentrate on the road.

Back in Edinburgh, I could barely keep my eyes open over soup for lunch, so sloped off to bed for the rest of the afternoon. Would I be well enough to go to the theatre later?

Around 6pm I decided that I would go out. Half an hour later, Paddy and Caitlin came round to Granny-sit (and eat one of the fish pies), then Mr hazelh and I headed up the road to meet Liz and Tony for the evening's 'entertainment'.

It was good to see our friends. We enjoyed chatting before and after the show, and during the interval. As for the show itself, probably the less said the better. In short, although the actors were clearly talented, the material that they performed was in very poor taste (crass and racist), and the majority of 'jokes' cheap and unfunny. How this show has attracted so many accolades, I really cannot fathom. I should have stayed in bed this evening.

Also today we heard that Chase has died.

My blip is of the author board on the café wall in the Mainstreet Trading Company.

Exercise today: small amount of walking (8,466 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.