Chooin' and Mooin'

You may have seen yesterday's blip, where I had a little rant about being denied access to my drive and it eventually getting sorted out...

So...

I get up early as I've got a busy day ahead and I want to be at work at 8am.

Shower... Glance out of the window at the lovely sunny day and notice that my driveway is reflecting the sunlight.

OK then...

Where the contractors had filled in the crater yesterday, water was pouring down the driveway to the garage. The patio and garden were flooding and covered in silt. Awesome!!!

It looked like it was coming from the drain that was next to the tarmac but as the water was pouring out, it was impossible to tell.

So I thought I'd better get my car out of the garage quickly so I could clear the garage out and stop anything getting damaged. Reversed up the drive, over the tarmac that they'd laid last night, back wheel no problem, but as the front wheel went over, it gave way and BANG! My car was now wedged in a bloody crater.

Picture here.

Somehow, and maybe it was because I'd already used my 'angry' quota yesterday, I managed to keep it cool. By now the water was flooding my neighbours garage (I couldn't wake them up despite trying) and another neighbours garden. Remarkably my garage was OK as it has a drainage trough thing.

So I spent the morning on the phone, people from all departments and so on turned up. No sign of the people who'd dug the crater in the first place yesterday, or the ones who'd filled it in, but the people who did turn up were very helpful, apologetic, incredulous.

Once the water had been turned off, (see here, here and here for how the wheel looked then) a truck turned up to sort out the car. As he was jacking it up to raise the wheel, the jack was sinking back as the tarmac was caving in like a sodden cliff-face. We managed to get some boards down and drove it back, but even then the crater was getting bigger as it subsided.

Amazingly, the car was undamaged apart from a dint on the bumper and scratches.

The Water Company guy, who was a really decent bloke, said that everything would be sorted out. Cleaners, damage to the car and property and anything else, no question at all. He was mortified at what had happened.

Anyway - I've written enough now so I'll pick it up again tomorrow. I was going to blip the car in the hole but as you can see from the links above, I've Flickred it instead. I was lucky enough to get a Coo Blip tonight and they're always going to win even if they have no relevance to my day except to be part of the end of a very surreal day.

Hoss and Sunset too if you're interested :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.