Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Time of Physics, Time of Art

Dr. Peter Galison is a prominent researcher in the field of Science and Technology Studies - the field in which I am studying for my MA here at York University. The Harvard professor is the keynote speaker and is launching the STS conference "Materiality: Objects and Idioms in Historical Studies of Science and Technology" with this talk "Time of Physics, Time of Art" today. Dr. Galison, left, prepares for the talk while Dr. Edward Jones-Imhotep assists. Peter was Edward's PhD supervisor at Harvard and Edward is the organizer of this conference. I took Edward's Technological Failure course as a mature student undergraduate. He is to be my second reader for my Major Research Paper on Robert J. Van de Graaff due at the end of this year. I attended the event as a grad student but also as photographer and journalist. I'm covering the public talk for YorkU's news service. It was a cool talk. We grad students got to meet with him collectively for an hour earlier today to discuss research methodologies and interests. Dr. Galison is also the director of Harvard's Collection of Historical Scientific Instruments. I'm hoping to follow up with him to discuss the Van de Graaff generator as a scientific instrument.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.