A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

No Idea

I sometimes head home skirting around Manchester city centre and have often wondered what the view is like from Sandhills park. Now I know.

I've no idea what the stone sculpture is that you can see; I didn't get time to have more of a look as there were some kids messing about near the car so I didn't want to leave it much longer.

The closest building, just to the left, is one of the 3 Towers. I'm not sure if it's Emmeline, Sylvia or Cristabel. Each tower took a name from three members of the Pankhurst family, all members of the suffragette movement of the early 20th century.
The 3 Towers are renovated and refurbished ex-council property, "transformed" in the hope that the area might regenerate.

In the distance, from left to right, there is City Tower, Beetham Tower, the CIS building, NOMA, and various high rise apartment buildings.

Happy Friday, the (bank holiday) weekend has landed.
(797)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.