Charge Of The Heavy Brigade

Whatever they tell you to do when approached by cattle, its all bollocks debatable.

I was walking out this afternoon, on a public footpath. Minding my own business. Then they saw me, and came my way. 

If a herd of young bullocks charge you, they kind of make the decisions for you. 

But if they start walking steadily, and purposefully toward you there is a definite air of menace. Criminal intent. 

I didn't run, but I bloody walked a whole lot quicker.

All of a sudden it seemed a very long way to the bramble and hawthorn hedge. And safety. 

I am not a pole vaulter or a sprinter. I never trained for distance running or jumping over high things. 

But imminent trampling focuses the mind somewhat and I swear I broke some records today.

In the end no one died. But I definitely saw my life pass before my eyes. It seemed strangely sedentary by comparison to my latest adventure.

Tomorrow's another day. Might stay in bed, safer there.

NB: These were tiny when I first entered the (public right of way) field. Unsurprisingly they gradually got bigger as they got nearer, and close-up they were very intimidating. I have never had problems with cattle before, this was different. They deserve an ASBO, and should certainly  never be allowed on public transport... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.