Mecha

By Mecha

Oxford Street, London

Popped down to London today to see a few exhibitions. First up was the Sony World Photography Awards at Somerset House. Some great work there and to top things off, there was a little exhibition of William Eggleston's work.

Next and the main reason I went down to London, to see the Sebastião Salgado's exhbition 'Genesis' at the National History Museum. Wow, quite possibly the best exhibition I have seen since his last one 'Migrations'. I could be seen as biased as Salgado is one of my all time favourite photographers. His work is incredible. The best £10 you could spend this year. There was a huge amount of his work on display, it took me around 2 hours to go through it....and then I went back around it again. I was tempted to go around a 3rd time - it's that good. Seeing his work up close, in print, in detail. I hope anyone who finds themselves in London between now and September goes to this exhibition.

After that I popped into the Photographers Gallery and then met up with a photographer friend for a drink. All in all a very good day.

This photo was taken on Oxford Street just by the Photographers Gallery, usually I would avoid the place. I only take a few shots in London, I was too busy taking in everyone elses photography

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.