Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Lisianthus

I have a cold. I woke with a runny nose, sneezing and a cough. It has not progressed and I am Covid negative, but I feel as though viral particles are coursing around my circulation! Just not well, so I have rested at home.

A district nurse came to change Mum's dressing. She was loud and heavy handed. I had to redo the dressing later because Mum was in pain. We would rather that she does not come again, but we don't have control over their rota.

Our friend Kate had to try to get an urgent medical assessment for her Mum, Jenny, today. The surgery was not able/willing to help. We have an elderly assessment unit in Hexham, but you need a referral from your GP to go there. The GP refused. Jenny had pins and needles in her feet with terrible back pain. She is the one who had two undiagnosed fractures a few weeks ago.

To cut a long story short, a paramedic was sent to examine her and recommended assessment in A & E. As I write, they have been there for hours and hours. She is probably not an emergency in the true sense of  the word, but did need a neurological examination. (In my book, that is not beyond the wit of any qualified doctor, e.g. a GP, but what do I know?)

Rant over.

Mum and I are trying for an early night, but she has just had a nose bleed, so we are delayed. The monster is lurking in her workroom and she is transferring well without it when necessary.

I just had a marmalade sandwich for supper to cheer me. (Note that I am deliberately not mentioning the political situation.)

Emergency blip provided by beautiful lisianthus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.