Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Gladioli past their sell by date...

It was another sunny and warm day, in fact too warm for a jacket. This unseasonal weather is a gift that won't keep on giving, all too soon it will be cold.

I went grocery shopping while Xena had a fun walk with P and her doggie pals - she came home exhausted so I know she had a good time! I worked on re-editing some family images from the summer to put into frames, I needed to clean up backgrounds where there were unwanted objects in there. I have now ordered the prints so hopefully they look good when I get them.

I got some exciting news today, Robyn and Rob who I met for lunch recently on their visit from Australia, have got engaged. Very exciting times ahead for them.

In two weeks time I will be on my way to South Africa to see my family. I cannot believe that I have not visited for five years now, that is too long to go without seeing your family. Two trips were aborted due to Covid, sadly the July 2020 trip was for all the family to see my mother in law/granny but it was not able to take place and she died so that was a lost opportunity for the boys to see their grandmother again. The next trip in July 2021 also never happened. Now it is just Gavin and I going for a quick visit, but we are planning a full family trip next summer as the boys have not seen the family for  many years now. There have been two deaths and two births in the family as life moves on. I have been doing so much shopping of things to take, when you miss five years of birthdays and the arrival of new babies you end up with an extra suitcase of gifts!

Tonight we are thankfully home, a take away supper from the local Italian restaurant is planned, and I want to watch the final episodes of State of Happiness on BBC4, what a brilliant TV series.

My gladioli were destined for the bin but I decided to take a photo of them for Flower Friday. I love the way the colours changed as the flower fades.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.