The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Jaws on a miniature scale

It was chillier today than the last few days, and quite windy, so my husband and I went to the Sussex wildlife trust HQ Woods mill. They had been doing some pond dipping, but by the time we arrived everything was just in bowls waiting to be returned to the pond. Luckily for me the warden gave me a tea strainer and let me fish things into a fresh bowl so I could take some pictures.
So...today's blip is a Great diving beetle larva (a small one) with a waterlouse prey in it's massive jaws!
These larvae grow much larger, and could no doubt do you some damage if you tried holding one, but thankfully this one was quite small.
I guess this has probably taught me beware, even seemingly safe places can be potentially dangerous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.