Glasgow Pottery

Had an interesting afternoon at an exhibition of Glasgow Pottery.  There were about 50 items on display, but I was particularly interested as I have a biscuit barrel which is in 'Scotch Ivory' made in Glasgow.  It was given to me by Bob about 30 years ago.  I love it.

  I was very lucky that there was an expert there by chance today from the Pottery Association, and she was able to tell me that it was made at the St. Rollox Pottery of Britannia Potteries in Springburn around 1900 to 1910, which of course makes it antique.  

There was a lot of information, I had no idea that Glasgow had so many potteries at one time, the last being Govancroft which closed in the 1980's.  

Britannia Potteries exported most of their goods the world over, and they were well placed on the Forth and Clyde Canal for shipping their cargo.

My collage shows some of the items on display, but the biscuit barrel on the lower left is mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.