Davidsblips

By Davidsblips

GOODBYE OLD OAK TREE

It was 1000 years old. Well, that was my estimate of its age. It is said that an oak tree lives for 500 years and takes 500 years to die. I could see no sign of life although occasionally I arrived to see that another branch had fallen away. For Jack (my young English Springer Spaniel) and I the Oak tree marked that this was the end of our walk. It usually took us a good hour to get there and, of course, an hour to return. The track included slopes which at times I found hard going. I’d say to Jack, after putting on his lead, Pull me up the hill Jack. If he could talk I’m sure he’d say It’s a Pleasure and helped me get up a hill. Oh yes, the oak tree. It was situated in a wood comprising oak and beech trees. In the summer it looked as though there was life in that Oak tree after all. Not so. It was the canopy
 of an adjacent Beech tree taking over some of the Oak’s space. Within a few feet there were signs of buildings that were no longer used. There were others nearby. Probably made of wood that had been rotted away. Or perhaps cleared. The base of each building was made of brick and filled in with concrete. I have been told that it was the site of a prisoner of war site for captured Italians. Also that it was built by American troops prior to D Day. Perhaps there is truth in both versions. I walked by and then said where is it. It had gone, all that was left were a large stump and huge logs. It had been felled since my last visit. I had walked by what was now a clearing. It must have been a swift end for that 1000 year old oak tree. 

I missed its presence.

Goodbye old tree.

I will miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.