CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Spotted on the dashboard of a parked white van

I parked as usual in Parliament Street car park where you can buy an all day parking ticket for just £3. On Saturdays it fills up early with the many Farmers Market and Shambles Market stallholders’ vehicles.

I reversed into a space near the ticket machine and once I’d got my ticket from the machine, I returned to the car. When I opened up my boot to collect my bags for the day I turned around and was amused to see all the accoutrements on the van’s dashboard.

I thought it deserved being blipped, so I took a quick snap.

Some of the fascinating objects that I’ve managed to discern from a closer look at this picture are:

• A bag of raw wool for knitting
• A red 1960s style American toy car, possibly of a Studebaker (Might a keen-eyed blipper recognise the type and model?)
• ‘The Whitsun Weddings’ by Philip Larkin, hardback
• A tiger toy
• A folded map called ’Motoring in Europe?’
• Soft leather sheepskin-lined gloves
• ‘The Collected Poems of Thomas Hardy’, hardback
• A porcelain miniature dog
• ‘Entangled Life ‘ by Merlin Sheldrake, paperback
• Two tiny miniature dolls - male and female
• ‘Malina’ by Ingeborg Bachmann, paperback
• A box of something, possibly teabags, written in a form of cyrillic script
• A poster (which I recognise as having been created by our notable local letter press printer, Dennis Gould) saying:

Knock hard, life is deaf’ 
MIMI Parent 1924 – (20)05
surrealist

A quick Google found this article about Mimi Parent, an artist from Quebec, Canada.


and that wasn't all that was there ……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.