Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Run, Because You Can

My life has been taken over a little recently by needing to run to have any chance of doing 21km within 3 hours next Sunday for the Leeds half marathon, but I would definitely support the moto 'run, because you can' as it has so many benefits.

There are loads of running clubs and fantastic events like the weekly 5km Park Run where I met up with Yearofhappy again. A couple of my other friends ran it too. Got there just in time this week and a fantastic turnout of nearly 470 people in memory of Arthur, who passed away last May at the age of 76 after having completed 100 park runs. I didn't know him but I feel like I do from the tributes that I have read including his community and charity work and the love for and from his family and friends. After the run they were selling cupcakes for Marie Curie a charity Arthur supported and as I had no cash Yearofhappy bought me a cupcake with Arthur's picture on it and the words 'Run, because you can'. Thanks R.

I got a new personal best run it was a good start to the day.

In the afternoon as I was heading into town I passed a church where the newly married couple and their family and friends were standing outside having their pictures taken. It was the two little girls running around the church grounds that made this to blip with the link to running, which we do a lot of when children for the sheer joy of it and as we grow up we leave that behind, in the main, so I'm going to adopt the moto

'Run, because you can'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.