Great British Gardens

My first task this morning was to visit the local Waitrose to stock up, leaving my Mum safely at home. I didn't  want to risk her knocking  her bad leg on a supermarket trolley. The manager at the care agency has referred her to the District Nursing team but they won't be calling around for a couple of days. Fortunately my Mum is not complaining  about her leg hurting. 

This  evening she was keen to attend her local Horticultural   Society meeting so I was happy to take her. The speaker, Andrew Babicz, a very experienced and knowledgeable horticulturalist talked most eloquently on the subject of "Great British Gardens". Currently he is a judge with the London Gardens Society so he has worked in, and seen, a few gardens in his time.
He showed lots of photos too of his chosen great gardens and the plants within them. I picked up ideas of gardens I would  like to visit eg Logan Botanic  Gardens, Levens Hall, Geoff Hamilton's Gardens, and Hyde Hall, and others I should like to revisit such as Inverewe, Great Dixter, and Bodnant to name just a few.  
While my Mum's patch couldn't really be described as a Great British Garden,  I do find the subject of my blip, which is a  small Acer in her garden,  a very attractive tree, and the small birds  seem to agree as they love poking around in it looking for titbits (aphids, spiders,etc) as well as hiding in it for cover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.