CBLinks

By gallusboy

The Galloway Hoard

Mrs CBL and I were in Aberdeen today and while she was at the hairdresser’s I visited the Art Gallery and Museum.

Fellow blipper, Talpa,  had posted images, last week,  from a special exhibition which was on show and I thought I’d go along and see it for myself.  I was aware of the backstory regarding the artefacts that were on view but hadn’t appreciated just how beautiful they would be.

Discovered in 2014 by a metal detectorist in a field in the south-west of Scotland, the  Viking-age treasure, known as The Galloway Hoard, is the richest and most varied cache ever found in Britain.  It had lain buried for over 1000 years.

In 2017, The National Museums (Scotland) raised almost £2 million to save this extraordinary collection of objects for the nation.  Painstaking work  of conservation and research then began.  It is said it will take many years to unlock all the secrets of the hoard but a wealth of tantalising stories has already being uncovered.

I have chosen an arm-ring of four ribbons which look similar but have subtly different decorations engraved on them as the main image.  The extra is a pectoral cross with the intact silver chain still coiled around it.  It was the first object discovered by the detectorist.

My thanks to Talpa for his tip-off that the exhibition closes next week.  I was so pleased I got to see these stunning treasures.

In other news Mrs CBL’s hair looked sharp (as always) and the cakes at Café Recharge were very tasty (as always).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.