Border Tails

By Swannie

Comma

We had such a driech morning, so I was surprised to see the sun put in a appearance at lunchtime today. I took advantage and went outside to do some winter checks on the car. I pumped up the tyres to their correct pressures, topped up the screen wash and checked the oil and coolant levels. This is something that I do regularly on the van, but seldom on my own car!

I was distracted by a comma butterfly on the buddleia in Davie’s garden across the road. Most of the flowers are past it now, but the wee thing found one that was still fairly healthy. I too am fairly healthy again, almost breathing as well as I was pre-Covid, so I’m going back to work on Wednesday.

There have been big changes at work since I went off because the lab failed an audit and lost its accreditation, this means it can no longer do the testing that it is paid to do. Most of the lab staff have been laid off, but the drivers are still working. Because the lab was taken over by a multinational company, we are sending all samples down to our lab in Wolverhampton to be processed while we wait to be audited again in December. Unfortunately, all the clients in Cumbria are now being picked up by a Wolverhampton driver and taken direct so I will only have two jobs a day. Nobody knows what the future holds, whether we will still have jobs come December, or will be made redundant!

I refuse to get stressed about it, what will be, will be!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.