earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

No, you don't need a sword

It was a beautiful day in Carcassonne, the temperature verging on hot when out of the wind. We made good use of the balcony with its view of the medieval city, about a mile away. None of us were inclined to do much except read and write. I'm finding it surprisingly easy these days to pick up with my novel whenever and wherever I'm able to grab a moment.

We did eventually take a short trip to the old citadel, although I was more interested in finding interesting people than looking at ancient fortifications. There was a considerable amount of French style on display.

This shot was taken from pretty much the same spot as this one, on my previous visit to Carcassonne, with E in January 2020, but looking the other way. The rain fell out of the sky that day, driving most other visitors away and granting me one of my all-time favourite photographs. I realised today how blessed we had been on that occasion.

There was no shortage of medieval tat on sale and we managed to resist all temptation. This kid was quickly dragged away by his dad but presumably not all parents have the same resolve. It seems to be all part of a clever ruse. At the airport they were in the display of prohibited items, the security personnel primed to confiscate all wooden swords and no doubt return them to the traders to be put on sale all over again. Another banned item was cheese. On checking today, I discovered that I wasn't going to be allowed to board our flight with my beautiful wedge of local Roquefort. With S not keen on eating mould, F and I have been on a mission to demolish it before we go. It's far, far too good to be left behind! I'm still confused as to what's so threatening about a flimsy cheap bit of wood and some very smelly cheese?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.