Reconnecting

By EcoShutterBug

Spring lamb

It’s been “persisting down” out there all day, so outside photography opportunities have been limited.  In the end I went into the sodden garden and snipped a stem of “Lamb’s ear” and took it indoors to photograph in a vase. You may know this beautifully soft and velvety silver plant as “Donkeys ears”, or “Jesus Flannel”; or even “Stachys lanata” or Stachys byzantina if you are botanically inclined. “Lamb’s ear” works best for me - there are millions of lambs in the late spring rain of New Zealand at the moment.

I decided to try an ‘abstract’ image to join Thursday’s “Abstract Challenge” which has "Natural” as its theme.  I used a ‘focus stack’ of 40 frames snapped along the length of a single leaf (well, along one Lamb’s ear). The accumulated raindrops are suspended on the tangled “wool” on the leaves. The gaping hole in the background (where the leaf stem leaves the stalk) may pass for a lug hole? But in the spirit of abstraction, I hope you found something completely different in the image somewhere – if so, please share.

On a more personal note, I need to decide whether to carry on blipping now that I’m back to base after giving it a go for 8 weeks while on holiday.

At first I found it weird to be reaching out to strangers and was confused by who the audience is.  What’s the purpose of photo blogging? What sort of images and stories should I feature? It has also been more time consuming than I ever imagined.  But I have learned a lot from seeing the inspiring array of diverse images flooding in each day from around the world. Several of you have been incredibly generous with comments and discussion, or by shooting stars and occasional favourites into my computer screen – you are indeed a very nurturing community

Best of all for me, blipping has helped me build some courage to toss images “out there” regardless of my feelings about their weaknesses and strengths. I learned from the surprises - some images that I am proud of went relatively unnoticed (and so I assume were less appreciated by others) – others which I feel vulnerable about received multiple affirmations.

Today’s abstract image is a case in point. I worry about its composition and balance.  But I’m pleased by the mystery and amazement it sparked when I first saw it emerging from the focus stack compilation.  It’s a magic moment watching the final few images click into focus.

The main point I want to make is I have never attempted an abstract photograph before, and most certainly would not be revealing it to hundreds of strangers were it not for Blip’s daily nag.  And whatever you others might think of a gloopy lamb’s ear, I enjoyed the process! Blippers have broadened my photographic perspective and challenged me.

Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.