Some Better World

On This Day In History
1919: Congress enforces Prohibition

Quote Of The Day
"Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water."
(W.C. Fields)

While I am not ignorant enough to believe that Prohibition was, or could be, effective in stopping people from drinking alcohol, I am not sheep enough to deny that I wish it had been or could be. As far as I am concerned, Western culture took a sideways step into idiocy when it began holding in such high esteem the carcinogenic substance that generally induces rudeness, obnoxiousness and stupidy in those who drink it. If only healthy drinks could be held in such high esteem, and parties where people behave courteously and speak intelligently. I would have been a lot happier and a lot less lonely growing up in such a world.

I was delighted to see this video a few weeks ago and realised that there are lots of people who feel the same way as me. Also happy to see that an increasing number of young people in Britain, Japan and the U.S. are choosing to be tee-total. It's the most sensible choice.

Clean

Clean (Bare) - just discovered this. Nice, but I prefer the original; it has a darkness to it that shows the singer is struggling to stay clean, especially in the "SOMETIMES!" refrain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.