More of the same? Too soon?

It is, to steal a saying from "Up over" , gey Dreich.  Kind of encouraging me to bide inside for most of the day.

A linguistic aside -  Whilst attempting to verify gey Dreich, I stumbled across a Scottish Glossary; where I found out how much we (Cumbrians) have in common with them.
"DOOK - to dip in liquid, especially water" OR, if Cumbrian - SWIM.
"GALLUS - Adjective: Cheeky; mischievous; bold"  Cumbrian - hard to define, "excessive"
"Oxter - armpit" Cumbrian identical.
"Wheesht - to call for silence." Cumbrian - Whisht
They neglected to mention
"Blue Dykie - Hedge Sparrow." - Cumbrian identical - BUT - when I sought it online the top reference was:- 
"Blue Dykie | Jerra | Blipfoto
Blue Dykie. Sorry apologies for lapsing into my "native language" (Cumbrian Dialect). Hedge Sparrows (Prunella modularis) were always called Blue Dykies when I was growing up. " 

If you've struggled thus far, I'd better tell you it's Viburnum "Bodnantense Dawn" which treated us, sans still me to a splash of pink and a delicate scent just after dropping all its leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.