Henello

By Henello

Ulster Art Exhibition

I'm not an artistic person, nor am I perceptive enough to unravel meaning and symbolism in artwork. But it was fun visiting anyway.

I overheard others discussing some of the pieces saying things like "it's very European" and "It's quite muted for a work done by blank". Again, this flies over my head and at times it felt like I had different eyes to others. R was too scared to make any comments in case someone who actually knew art overheard her.

One man was very into discussing the themes of the pieces, surveying them in true art critic fashion. The pieces were available to buy as well and this guy was willing to pay.

Once more, I have no idea what I'm talking about, but his choice of "investment" baffled me. From my limited perspective it was just thorns tied together leaning on a small porcelain cup glued to a bit of tree bark. He looked at it from every possible angle and despite many many many signs saying "do not touch" he carefully picked it up and had a closer look. Although, I later learned he did ask for permission. The artwork cost £950.

There were some amazing paintings, sculptures and drawings present. I personally like landscape art or cool sculptures. I'm aware I am absolutely not qualified to understand what makes art good though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.