MARY'S SHELL

Apologies for the latness of this blip (it is now 9.00 pm) but we had such a lovely day today, that we left home about 9.30 am and didn't get home until 5.30 pm (I know, dirty stop outs or what!!!!!???)

I haven't wanted to see Mary's Shell for sometime and we had decided to go today.  Whilst watching the weather this morning and Googling the weather for Cleveley's we almost decided not to go - but we perservered.  I'm so glad we did.

I used Google Maps again for directions and it was perfect.  There are massive works going on through Skippool though so we were so glad to have the "voice" on Google Maps telling us which direction to take.  

However it was sooooo windy when we arrived - my hair was standing almost straight up, Hubby (bless him) does not have that problem!!!  I have never been here before but we headed for the North Promenade parking area.  According to a map from there if we go straight up we shoudl see it so we did.  But there were more sea defence works going on and the big afe there was shut so darn it - we needed a cafe with loos.  So we headed straight up and walked a fair way before realising we were going wrong somewhere (this is so typical of us, we could get lost on a postage stamp!!). 

Anyway we headed back and guess what - the shell was right in front of the car, well down on the beach but if it hadn't been so windy we would have looked at the beach first and seen it anyway - AND there were toilet facilities available withn a few feet of the car too!!!

Anyway I took several photos (also see extras) and also use this link if you want to know more 

After this, there was absolutely nothing open anyway that we could see so we headed up to Fleetwood and to the Fleetwood Museum.  I had been before, I took my Mum and G here some years ago now, but Hubby had never been and I knew he would love it.

So I used Google maps again and headed  for Rossall Point Car Park.  Well lots of pot holes in there but lots of space.  There was a lady with a lovely dog as we arrived so of course I befriended the dog and spoke to the lady and asked her about the museum.  She said oh yes just straight up the road past the North Euston Hotel and you;re there about a 10 minute walk.  So we headed off and walked briskly.  The wind had now subsided thank heaven.  Anyway 45 minutets later we arrived - now we did walk quite fast but there is no way that thatwas a 10 minute walk.

Nothing open on the main road anywhere, we did not that the Ferry Cafe was open but headed for the museum first.  We were greeted with the door being opened for us by a lovely gentlement and went straight to the cafe.  We asked for a sandwich and coffees - Sorry said this lovely gentleman Ia different one) but we can't do sandwiches today - oh no and we were hungry now.  However he said we can do toasties!!!!!!!!  We just accepted a toastie and a coffe and were satisfied.  

Then walked around the museum.  It is so interesting - a lot I knew before but some I had forgotten and they had a new display all about Fishermen's Friends (the well known lozenge) that is still manufactured locally.  

We saw the very old trawler on display called "Harriet" and we given it's history by another lovely gentleman.

After that we just headed back to the car - another 45 minute fast walk (my legs can testify to that).

Google maps came to the rescue and directed us home again.  By now schools were letting out and still road works everywhere but we got back with no problem.  

I still haven't processed my Fleetwood photos yet, so I may just share bore you with them when I've done that.  We didn't got to the Indoor Market today as we had got tired by now - so maybe another day, when there is more open but before the tourist season starts up fully.

I've made up a couple of triptych's from my photos.  Of the main photos if you look very closely at the bottom right photo you will see that I got photobombed by a seagull in the most perfect place for it.  This is exactly how it was I haven't photoshopped it in because I wouldn't have a clue how to do that - just pure luck!!!  I've added a close up of it in extras so you can see it.
That's all from me for today - I'm now exhausted and hope to sleep well tonight.  

Do take care, stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.