Northern Star

By Lifferz

Trying something new

My first attempt at making oxtail soup. Not really sure what I’m doing but I’ve looked at about 4 recipes and decided to go for a hybrid version. I’ve used my posh tinned volcanic soil tomatoes (last tin!) some decent red wine (that felt sad watching it all pour ‘away’ into the pot). I’ve used extra onions as I had no celery and some cheap carrots.

Am about to clamber around outside now to get bay leaves, thyme and hopefully parsley.

Not decided on if to add clove (Jamie Oliver) or Star Anise (BBC good food) but I will certainly use some Worcestershire sauce towards the very final stages. I suspect my cloves are much fresher than my Star Anise so that may be the decider.

I’m slow cooking it after the initial frying. It’s always exciting and scary to try something new when I’m making a big batch. I wasn’t aware I’d bought over 2kg of ox tail! I just said 8 pieces please (oops). I heard I can freeze it fine as long as I skim the fat off. Rather hoping this is good for me like bone broth. When it gets a bit cooler outside my joints need a little TLC!

Spent the afternoon listening to A mix of classical and Brazillian music whilst I tidy and sort

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.