Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

John

John was hired as a server at the Madera Sunrise (aka deli) shortly after the new owner took over. He has told me that I am his favorite female customer. When I asked who his favorite male customer was he said it was Al. “Al?” said I. I know him, he’s a regular like me. I guess he’s okay but kind of boring.

Anyway, John is pretty funny. He’ll sit with me when he’s supposed to be working, chatting, singing or eating his breakfast (which isn’t really very cool with Nicole or Ashlea. But when they’re bored, they do the same thing!)

I’m in the deli now so I read what I’ve written so far and he liked it. But I told him I needed more, like what he likes to do for fun. He told me that mostly he likes hanging out with his family. He’s got four kids, the oldest is a boy and three daughters. That surprised me. Maybe I should leave larger tips.

He once asked me who my favorite singers were. I decided to list them by each “era” of my life. I remember having written Kenny Loggins, Diana Ross, Bette Midler, and Ed Sheeran. He had only heard of Sheeran and one I can’t remember ( must not really be a favorite). The young lady behind him was giving me smiles and thumbs up while I was rattling them off.

He’s a great dude and he makes me smile. He’s something special..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.