Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Willow Warbler or Chiffchaff?

What a cracking day it has been with wall to wall blue shies all day and even a bit of heat. Probably 7 or 8 months since we had a day like this. Even managed to sit outside for lunch, which was a real treat.

Only problem with sitting in the garden is you notice that the grass needs cutting, although for only the second time this year. So things are starting to put on a wee spurt in the heat, which hopefully will mean our farmer friend will be able to get his cattle out in the fields again soon.

Anyway, while on a break from cutting the grass I spotted this wee bird not far from me. I dashed off and got the camera as I haven't blipped a Willow Warbler before. It obliged by wandering about the same spot for a few moments collecting bugs, while I rattled off a few blips. However, when I was reviewing the shots this evening I learned about the similarities between the Willow Warbler and Chiffchaff and how it can be difficult to tell them apart. Well, I looked at umpteen photos on line of both birds and the more I looked the more confused I got. Initially, I convinced myself it was a Willow Warbler as it seemed to meet the criteria. Then a saw a photo of a Chiffchaff and it seemed to be almost identical to this with the yellowish stripe above the eye. I still can't make up my mind so hopefully someone out their in Blipworld will have the answer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.