40 years today, we had...

Our first date! It is not a date we have celebrated before, because it was only this summer, when I found my 1982 schoolgirls diary, that I was able to look it up. It must have been fate to find it this year, just a few months before the 40th anniversary. So tonight we celebrated with a meal out at the highly acclaimed Recruiting Sergeant in Coltishall. After making our choice from the extensive menu, we were served up the biggest mountain of food we have ever seen! Mollie had warned us that the portions were large, but this was something else. Jon had steak and kidney pudding - no joke it was as big as a famiky size Christmas pudding. I had pork ribs - two huge racks. We properly pushed the boat out with a large glass of wine (cost more than I would reasonably pay for a good bottle of wine!) a pint of beer, and puddings followed by coffee.

It was worth it - even though our meals cost us £1 for each of those 40 years - each! Work that out! But it was worth it. To have an evening out together like that is rare, but it was nice to find a genuine excuse.

Work tomorrow- so I may save the bollinger to celebrate the 40th anniversary of our first kiss - thanks to my diary I know that was 13th!! Lol. Oh to be 16 again....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.