tomorrow lunchtime sorted #pop2

There are indubitably more cyclists around at the moment, time-of-year-for-time-of-year, but still possibly a little way off being pervasive enough to force a difference. The odd improvement and change here and there (the eventual completion of the Leith Links end of the Seafield path, the beginning of the long-needed upgrade to North Meadow Walk, the eventual re-release of the Roseburn end of the Roseburn path) is still being balanced with the odd complete fuckup here and there (the original offerings and responses to feedback on the Leith Walk programme, the continual erosion of the usefulness of the Broomhouse path, the mere five-year driving ban imposed on someone after killing his second cyclist). I still get/feel threatened (particularly when tired or laden or on the wrong end of the wind) and still feel vicariously threatened on behalf of people being harassed more than I try to allow myself to be. I shouldn't have to ostentatiously signal, gesture and change my road position to try and dissuade drivers from attempting stupid overtakes and close passes on cyclists in front of me, but felt I had to twice on the way home this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.