Down a Garden Path

In yesterday's posting, I commented about how lovely our campus is this time of year. I've been spending every minute that I can there with my camera these past two weeks or so, taking pictures of everything. I can't help myself. It's just so beautiful.

This is a scene I've photographed several times in the past two weeks, meaning to post it here. It's one of the shady paths along the duck pond, lined with grape hyacinths. The problem is that there are DUCKLINGS on the duck pond. And they are seriously OMG cute! (See what I mean?) Which is why you have not seen this picture till now.

The people who are in charge of taking care of our lovely campus are meticulous. Nearly every time that I visit the duck pond and the surrounding gardens near the alumni center buildings, there is a woman down on her knees weeding, mulching, tending the plants, sprucing things up. One of these days when I go by and she is there, I will thank her. For surely this is one of the loveliest spots on campus.

The duck pond is to the left. To the right are some engineering buildings. Walk straight ahead and you will get to the mall area, and Old Main, where yesterday's shot was taken.

On this particular day, I didn't have any special reason to be on campus except that I wanted to be. It looked like rain, but so far the drizzle seemed to be holding off. And so I stopped for a half hour before my work day began. Parked my car on College Ave under the green green trees.

Pondered this thought: that I was just another child of God walking along the road . . . and realized I had to get back to the land and set my soul free. And so I went . . . back to the gardens.

We are stardust
We are golden
We are billion-year-old carbon
And we got to get ourselves back to the garden . . .


The soundtrack: Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young perform Joni Mitchell's amazing song, Woodstock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.