Gheluvelt Park

I had an early morning. Tescos opened their Christmas delivery slots at 6am.  I had my tablet at hand and logged on at 6:09 to be faced with a queue waiting to get on the web site that ran into hundreds of thousands.  I made it to the front of the queue two hours later.  Unfortunately the app kept crashing due to the volume of people trying to access it, the message suggested trying logging on to the Web site.....and sitting in another long, long queue no doubt.

I persevered with the app and finally managed to get a slot in the week approaching Christmas.   Ann said I shouldn't have bothered and we could have gone to Morrisons,  yes, but where's the fun in that?!

I did some WRAP stuff this morning then went with Ann to the Tything.  She had an appointment with the GPs and I went for a little walk whilst I waited for her.  I went up to Gheluvelt Park and took a look at the WW1 memorial commemorating the Worcestershire Regiment and the Battle of Gheluvelt in 1914.  The steel columns represent the bi-monthly duration of the war from 1914 - 1918, the heights are representative of the number of British Empire casualty numbers in each bi-monthly period, 1 cm =500 casualties.  

I have blipped this monument previously but as we are in the remembrance period I thought it appropriate to blip it again. 

From there we went over to the cathedral cafe for a coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.