WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Fig tart

Baking day today. Nowadays if I have the oven on I try to use it for as many things as possible. So first I made some brownies with surplus sourdough starter, and added a batch of home-made hobnobs because the raw dough had been in the fridge for a week. When they were done, I put in the pastry for this tart to blind-bake before adding frangipane and figs. The Spanish figs were an impulse buy from the market -- I was so surprised to see them, and they were only 2 euros a kilo.

I can confirm this tart looks much prettier with purple figs. In fact I think I'll be replacing the photo on my blog post. The extra is a before baking photo -- I liked the drama the strong sunlight provided. We had the tart for lunch with  dollops of crème fraîche. I confess it didn't taste as good as it looks, mainly because I made it to use some pre-rolled shortcrust S had inexplicably bought, and it was tough. Make your own shortcrust folks! It takes 5 minutes and is bound to be better than bought. Although actually I would normally have used pâte sablée for this tart.

Yes, I did pop out for a vine photo, but I thought it was time for a break from those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.