Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Your turn next!

Or perhaps he is asking her if the earth moved??

Firstly, I must thank all those who commented or sent stars or hearts for my 4.500 blip yesterday. How could I have forgotten?! It was lovely to read what you said and to feel part of this wonderful community.

And so to 4.501!

After a grey, damp start, the weather improved. I went onto Fallowfield Fell for a short walk after an early lunch.

The sun was very low and I realise I will need to go out earlier to catch the best of the light. However, the sun caught the profiles of the ewe and the tup as they stood on a small mound.

By the evidence of numerous red rumps, I can say that this boy has been doing his business well. The idea is to produce lambs 5 months later at a time convenient for the type of sheep and the local conditions. The hill ewes have their lambs later than others, particularly the early ones who lamb indoors.

I read up a bit about the breeding and learned that some famers put an infertile tup (who has had a vasectomy) in with the sheep. This "teaser" brings them into oestrus about 14 to 20 days, at which time the fertile tups do their job. 

Here is something I composed as I walked:

Low winter's sun momentarily blinding me as I head south on the fell.
The warmth is set low, but it reduces the chill in the air.
Gorse, early or late*, is starting to flower near Written Crags. 
The ducks in the pond glide effortlessly, but  need to squabble as they go, breaking the quietness.
From the distance, I can hear the low thrum of the traffic on the A69.
On a low hill, a ewe and a tup are enjoying the last rays of sun.
It is time to complete my loop back to Heavenfield, a solitary walker with much to absorb.

*gorse can flower every month of the year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.