ELLISON WALK, GATESHEAD

Woke up to a freezing cold morning with frost everywhere. Caught the bus to Swalwell at 9.30am.  Swalwell is in a valley and was shrouded in freezing fog.  I started walking towards Blaydon Primary Care where I had an appointment with my gastro consultant.

Its all downhill for the first part of the walk.  I was rather nervous due to the frosty pavements but there are a lot of streets to choose from and I went down one that didn't look too bad.  Bit of a problem when I got to the main road.  A car had broken down and there was a tow truck in front of it and they were blocking the pavement.  I couldn't walk on the road as there was a lot of traffic. I couldn't walk on the pavement either so my only choice was to step over a low wall and negotiate some smooth stones which were set into the ground - and they were slippy.  Fortunately the tow truck driver took me by the arm and helped me on my way.

Ive added an Extra of a collage of frosty photos I took on my way to the Primary Care centre..

I had about 5 mins to wait till the consultant was available.  Last time I saw him he said he would give me a ring to see how I was doing so he was a bit surprised I had been given an appointment .  (He thinks that maybe they don't do telephone appointments any more ) Anyway we had a chat about how I'm doing. I told him the tablets are helping with the heartburn but I still get it regularly.  He thinks a change of tablets might help.  He is reluctant to recommend an operation - and I'm certainly not keen. He will write to my GP so I will wait to hear from him. 

Then I got the bus to Gateshead.  It was busy.  I shopped in Iceland and Tesco. 

Took my blip shot in Ellison Walk.  Its the main route from Tesco to the transport interchange where you can get a bus or the Metro. Its my entry for Mono Monday - theme today is Street photography hosted by heanku.

Got home around 2pm.  Settled down to watch the England World Cup match.  It had already started but I had recorded it .... and managed to avoid finding out the score.  So I watched it as if it was live.  England did well against poor opposition and won 6 - 2.

Steps today - 10,728

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.