River Derwent

I got the bus to Swalwell again this afternoon to go to Neils and keep Luna company for a couple of hours.  Called in to Lidl after I got off the bus and then walked to Neils across the River Derwent.  There is a choice of three bridges to cross and today I chose the one that runs alongside the Victorian pipe bridge you can see in my blip. Its a cast iron water pipe which carries over 25 million litres of water a day. The structure has two stone towers and three spans of wrought iron lattice girders.

The Wide Wednesday theme today is Flowing water.  Unfortunately  the River Derwent looked very still but there was some movement to the right of my shot - you will have to take my word for it. Thanks to steveng for hosting.

Luna was her usual bopisterous self.  She loves to play tug games and fetch games but the only toys I could find were a couple of balls and a plastic bone.  I ferreted around and came up with a few bits of broken toys that we could use to play with.  I think next time I go I will definitely need to take a new toy.

Neil had given me the heads up that Luna's brother Cooper's " Mam " would be calling round with birthday gifts for Luna.  Luna and Cooper are one year old tomorrow.   When this lady arrived Luna got very excited and dashed into the street as she must have thought Cooper was there ..... he wasn't.  Fortunately we were able to persuade her to get back indoors.

When I left Neils I got a bus to the Metrocentre.  I had expected it to be busy but it wasn't.  Did some shopping in M & S and Wilkinsons.  Was overcharged in Wilkinsons by £2.75.  Good job I was on the ball and noticed so I was able to get a refund.    All three buses today were on time.

The weather was rainy this morning but it had cleared up before I went out and it remained dry for the rest of the day.  Still chilly though.

Steps today - 10,806

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.