analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

The Sharp End. Leitz 90mm Elmarit on Bellows II

This is a long preamble to my Blip tale...  I have a bit of a thing for writing with fountain pens, something left over from my early education at the hands of t' Holy Brothers from Dooblin.  We were obliged to learn the art of cursive script, which has stayed with me for life.  Now, I love the tactile sensation of the nib on the paper, and the brief shimmer of the ink as it flows from the nib onto the page.  When it comes to fountain pens, the sky is the limit in terms of price and quality, but I have a plebeian taste.  Back when we were in high school, the Parker 45 was very popular.  It didn't cost an arm and a leg, and it came in a huge variety of colors with interchangeable nibs from Fine to Broad.  I have my original one from those days.  But recently, I have bought several more, and filled each one with a different ink color.  I love the Pilot range Iroshizuku, made in Japan.  The colors are lovely and intense, and the inks flow beautifully onto the page.  I Blipped them previously here. 
I have a work colleague who is just getting into the fountain pen thing, and, over the last few weeks, have offered him some advice. Although I'd suggested some websites from which I have bought fine pens for my little Parker 45 collection, he decided to order an every-day pen from Harrods...  It didn't cost a fortune, but the shipping was more than the pen.  It arrived a few days ago and he showed it off to me.  He didn't like the feel of the nib, and couldn't get the ink to flow nicely.  I made some suggestions, but he wasn't happy.  So, earlier this week, I found the  little green pen sitting on my desk.  My colleague insisted over my protests that I have it.  What was I to do?  I brought it home, took it apart, flushed all its plumbing out with warm water, and then filled it with my Pilot green ink, shin-ryoku.  It's true that new nibs can be scratchy, and this one is quite fine, but the ink worked its magic, and the pen writes beautifully now.  The engraved nib is pretty, so I thought it was worthy of a Macro, the old-fashioned way:  Leitz Bellows II attachment, an extension tube to increase the magnification, and the lens head from the venerable Leitz Elmarit 90mm from 1961.  Here's what the lens saw.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.