One After 909

Actually, it’s the one after One After 909. I basically missed celebrating blip 900, so thought I’d be clever and celebrate number 910, using the Beatles track as a title. Except I forgot and this is blip 911. I suppose I could have used a song by the boy band of that name as a title, but that may just be over complicating things!
The picture is from last night’s gig. A stand in drummer who we hadn’t had a chance to rehearse with, a new mixer, one guitarist otherwise engaged and no gigging for over six weeks were always going to throw up a few problems, but it generally went well with lots of appreciative comments from the audience (who may, or may not, have consumed alcohol haha) and only a few stumbles, mainly around the endings of songs. Though I can’t remember whether I was looking at Lloyd to see what chord he was playing, or if he was looking at me to see what bass note I was on. As we seem to be roughly in the same place on the neck, I’m guessing all was good!
The venue was being a bit stricter than usual in numbers and the time we could play until (possibly had a visit from the licensing authorities?) but it was still 2am before I got to bed. Panto rehearsal this afternoon and then an hour spent cleaning all my leads from last night. There were several beer spillages during the evening, and though I was at the “shallow end” of the stage, I did not escape entirely unscathed and several of my leads were a bit sticky at the end of the night. Too tired to do anything about it immediately after the gig, but all are now clean, dry, neatly coiled and put away for next time.
No gigs until Christmas now, but we’re going to try and arrange a practice before then to sort out the setlist and fine tune the mixer. It all sounded great out front, but there will still issues with the in-ear monitors. Loads better than the old mixer, but still a few problems with the sound cutting out or crackling intermittently. Nothing that can’t be sorted and we’re all very positive about the future now. Roll on those Christmas gigs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.