Action Time Vision

By ATV

Rattlesnakes

I'm going to do a series of Blips on albums that I have loved over the years.

Rattlesnakes by Lloyd Cole & The Commotions is a good place to start.

I go back a lot further than that and it's not my favourite album but I do remember playing it senseless when I first bought it.

It isn't actually my favourite Commotions album either: Mainstream holds that honour.

The Commotions also have the closest thing to a successful musician Stirling has ever had in Bannockburn lad Lawrence Donegan.

I remember seeing him and Cole in town back then, Donegan with a vintage golf bag slung over his shoulder. I thought Donegan was such a poser but later learnt he was a keen golfer and has ultimately become a golf journalist.

Cole also fell into the classic Scottish artist debate - he's actually English but The Commotions were a Glasgow band so we are having them.

Anyhow Mr Cole is coming, er, home later this year to Oran Mor doing a Dylan and going electric.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.