Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Silver birch

Another Monday and another week, they are flying by just now!
At lunchtime today I went to look after Josie as her dad had a driving lesson. She is such a joy to spend time with. She plays very happily and clearly has little scenarios going on in her head. Today she spent around 10-15 minutes playing with her doll and a large Winnie the Pooh. She hugged them, together and separately, chatted to them, brought them to me to look at, then went back to cuddling and rocking the doll, chatting all the time. I'd forgotten just how fascinating young children's play schema are.
This birch is outside their house, I think they are one of the most beautiful types of tree and this is a particularly fine specimen.
I had an email from a former member of my staff today. She had had a very difficult childhood and adolescence and I helped her to cope with what was going on and encouraged her to go further. I knew she could do well, she was so determined. She finally made it to University in her 30s having two young children and successfully graduated a few years ago. She was writing to invite me to her 40th birthday party (I remember her 21st!) and to let me know that she had just got a job with the Inspectorate as an inspector and thanked me for all the support I'd given her. Nice to be thanked and so good to hear how well she is doing. So different to the spikey young girl I first knew.
Bridge this evening, the cards were definitely not in our favour and so I was astounded when we came first in our side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.