Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

The dogs’ treats pot - but what was it made for?

When I started my Pharmacy career as an apprentice in 1957, we sold quite a lot of these - usually ceramic with a loose lid or a wide funnel top.
When I took over my business in 1977 this was in the stock - and I never sold one ! It is a sputum cup or spittoon. I imagine it was the growth of the use of tissues that made it almost obsolete - so much more hygienic to use a tissue and bin it.
For the dogs treats it is ideal - one hand action lifts the lid, the other hand reaches in then the lid shuts. Not surprisingly, the dogs hear that lid lift wherever they are and come running!
They are possibly still used in chest wards of hospitals, where the sputum needs examining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.