Scribbler

By scribbler

Treasured: Adventure

Today's challenge is 'Treasured' and my response is all the adventures Blipfoto leads to.

This is David Butts of Mad Dog Garage, which is the secret workshop behind the Allen's Radiator sign in yesterday's blip.


I had my photos planned and taken before nine this morning, but I'm learning that Blipfoto leads to mysterious coincidences and unexpected adventures.

Egged on by the excellent sleuthing of MementoMinutiae, I stopped this afternoon to investigate the radiator shop that wasn't. The intriguing interactive kinetic sculptures produced by the Mad Dog Garage during 2012 were no longer active. I knocked on the door; no answer. But there was a sign with a phone number, so I called it. A cheerful, friendly man announced himself as Dave Butts and after we chatted a bit offered to meet me at the garage.

The photo shows only a small section of a large space decorated with funny signs (like "Edsel Sales and Service") and containing many pieces of machinery and work in process. Dave's sculptures move with wooden gears which he produces himself, one gear at a time, one notch at a time, on an impressively massive machine. He was raised in Pullman, Washington, the son of a physician, and has been fascinated with gadgets since childhood. During the 1980s when architecture had fallen on hard times, he found himself with the freedom to explore his childhood preoccupation. In 2012 he created a gallery window in a corner of the garage and put on a monthly show. That led people to him who want to use his talents for their own projects, about which he is sworn to secrecy, but he's looking forward to returning to his own tinkering. He seems to have endless ideas and the passion to carry them out. We talked for an hour and exchanged information and opinions about a myriad of topics.

This adventure led me to a part of my own neighborhood I would never have discovered, and to the acquaintance of a charming fellow artist. I would call that a treasure, wouldn't you?

P.S. Dave Butts turns out to be a photography enthusiast and just might appear on Blipfoto one of these days. And on the way home I met my neighbor Elizabeth at the Whole Foods salad bar. As we exchanged greetings I told her about Blipfoto, and she too may show up in this corner of cyberspace.

It's hard to keep from sharing good news. :)

---------------------------------------

No longer a newbie! 30 BLIPS IN 30 DAYS!

Big thank you to kendallishere for inspiration and early encouragement. Kendall introduced me to the blippers who follow her wonderful journal. Now it's my turn.

I would like to introduce two newbies, my friend carolinav in Southern California and her friend Mandarinola in Colombia, South America. I know you will welcome them as graciously as you welcomed me.

Thanks to all the wonderful people I have met in these 30 days. Thanks for cats, dogs, kids, flowers, trees, sunrises and sunsets, portraits, bodies of water, bright clouds, night skies, and fresh eyes on the world. Thanks for humor and encouragement.

Let the adventure continue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.