Shine-A-Light

By gblrps

Ricky Burns

Tomorrow night Ricky Burns takes on Jose Gonzalez at the Emirates in Glasgow for the WBO world lightweight title.

Today I was passing through the St Enoch Centre at lunchtime and happened to come across the Live weigh-in for the fight. A fascinating event involving a melee of Promoters, Media, Trainers. Officials. Boxing Celebrities (Jim Watt etc) and all sorts of people who were in the middle of it but didn't have an obvious role.

I was right at the front, but apart from the above mentioned horde there were also in front of me about 4 or 5 TV crews including the BBC and Sky Sports, around a dozen Press photographers and various journalists and presenters, several of whom I recognised. The place was buzzing.

Very difficult to get pictures. This was taken at full stretch, standing on my tip toes and my arms extended fully above my head. I had a better shot of two of the other boxers squaring up to each other (and wearing very little!) at the weigh-in, but I had to go with the main event! All the boxers made the weight.

Just one more thing to say - C'Mon Ricky!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.