Stone upon stone

It is so surprising that, although I have known and been interested in the work of Andy Goldsworthy for a very long time and have several of his books that I have absorbed over the years, I have never actually been to see these cones. I always knew they were there and they are only a few miles from where I live, but I just didn't get round to going to see them.

Now I am fascinated and know that I will find them all and photograph them. If I can think of different ways of presenting them, then I may very well blip them as well.

For the moment, here is a second one. This is at Warcop, the same village where I blipped the strange arch in the churchyard a short while ago. The pinfold is just outside the village, by a stream. You can see the line of the trees where the stream runs and the little culvert in the wall of the fold.

If you look large, you can see the skillful making of the cone in the local red sandstone.

This is what Goldsworthy said:

Each cone is a surprise. I don't remember making any cone that, upon completion, I did not feel an urge to pull it down and try again. I know, however, that the very irregularities that irritate me at the time of making will become those qualities that I like most about the sculpture.

I am fascinated by the way a cone grows, stone upon stone, layer by layer - as a tree does, ring upon ring. By making slight changes in the placing of each stone, the shape can be brought out or taken in, made elegant or squat, full or empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.