Waiting for a new purpose

After a slow start today became full on. meant I didn't get away until quite a bit later than my usual time. As I was going from the car to the front door, I noticed the piles by the retaining wall.

Ths slate tiles were removed from where I had laid them almost 40 years ago. S' mother had her house built, and she decided to have slate tiles laid on the floor. Never had I done anything like that. I must have still been full of adolescent invincibility when I said that I would do it for her. For some reason I decided to start in the bathroom. Probably the hardest place; curved edges, narrow spaces, and a constant challenge to my lack of suppleness. Once that was done the rest was easy.

The six fence posts were taken from the fence around two of the four sides of the old villa in Herne Bay. Almost 6 inches square, New Zealand hardwood, still solid. They have survived being left in a pile for a few years.

The terra cotta tiles formed part of a path down the side of the A-Frame. Removed during the re-roofing recently.

How we use all or some of these things has yet to be determined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.