Autumn

I woke up this morning to an email from Amazon saying how was your Amazon delivery, rate your driver. I did not get an Amazon parcel from an Amazon delivery driver yesterday. I am confused. I have only just woken up..

I look online to see what it was and it was my second desiccant dehumidifier that had been delivered. But I had not received that yesterday. So I check what time the delivery occurred. And it turned out it was handed to the resident at 9:45 pm last night.

I was asleep in bed at that time.

There was no email from Amazon to say that it was going to be delivered yesterday in fact at 7 pm last night, when I checked, they said it was still coming on Thursday which is today.

So I shoot outside, no delivery in my safe place.

I go to the front door And there it was sitting all frozen in the deep freeze of all of last night.

Parcel has been sitting on my front doorstep open to the street all night, but then I think any burglar chancing their luck last night probably never came out, they didn't want their bits frozen off, so I'm lucky it's still there.

It is now sitting in my kitchen ((room temp 6.5C in there) and I am wondering now when it will be safe to plug it in. If I plugged it in now it would go off in a puff of smoke and a big bang. So how long should I wait before I can turn it on. When would it be safe for the electrics? Mine and it. Tomorrow or Saturday?

I have returned to my warm bed (bedroom is 12.5C, this is nicely warm for me), and thinking. So, I am guessing now, that when postie never came back with the second dehumidifier on Tuesday, he had told/promised me it was back at the sorting Post Office Depot when he looked at the screen on his device (he must have said I'm going on my own strike, I am not delivering any more parcels today or his Union said you are not delivering any more parcels today) the post office sorting office said we have too many stupid Amazon parcels, (here Amazon, you have this one back) and went over the road to the Amazon depot (yes it really is over the road) and handed my parcel back to them.

So it is looking like the poor Amazon driver when he finished his shift last night, someone said, here lad do us a favour drop this parcel off....

I had no prior warning when I checked at 7 pm last night, it was not out for delivery, so this must have been a very last minute decision to send it out late last night....

This is definitely a new take on 'pass the parcel'.....

I think I need my smelling salts...

I won't be ordering anything else before Xmas in this parcel confusion.
Problem is I am dependent on online ordering because I cannot walk round the shops, and often I cannot use my scooter because of the frequent rain. And there is a blinking postal strike tomorrow and Monday, I am expecting something important by special delivery 1pm tomorrow, but that won't happen....the longest I had to wait for my special delivery by 1pm was 6 days because of this postal strike, so I will be on tenterhooks because of that.

Can't we have our more stable, old lives back...it was bliss before and we didn't know it...


My nighttime trail cam video - a busy night by the swing in my garden.

https://youtu.be/fi5PjelvALc


Creative is an autumn painting - the field where all lost unfortunate parcels in the game of 'passing the parcel between different delivery companies' end up.

My woes continue today as regards the post office and their strikes. I have some important paper documents I needed to post, but Royal Mail strikes are tomorrow and Monday. So, I have had to come to a compromise - make PDF's, send them to the recipients, and the actual letters later. Not ideal.

No rest for the wicked. I now need to make those PDF's...tearing hair out...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.