The Wren

By TheWren

Smiddy Cottage

I had a really good three hour journey up north and enjoyed all the fresh colour in the countryside heightened by the sunshine and blue sky. In particular at one point I passed magnificent fields of cultivated daffodils sitting next to fields of rich red soil which are a feature in one stretch of countryside between Dundee and Aberdeen. I looked in vain for a lay by or somewhere to pull off the motorway so I could capture the image but have had to commit it to memory.

I arrived here in time for a late lunch of home made broth and fresh oatcakes. My sister-in-law is an excellent baker and I have been treated to crumpets (known as drop scones in England) and shortbread also, so it was good that we were able to have a good long walk around the fields and woods surrounding her cottage. The views here are of softly undulating farmland with freshly sown and greening fields punctuated by copses of trees many of which were apparently originally planted to provide shade and shelter for cattle. During the walk she pointed out two particular trees which I hadn't come across before - a wych hazel and a whitebeam.

Cara thinks she is in heaven with her own stream in the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.