The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Frosty start

Today's date has significance. At school, we had to dress up as mini-brides of Christ, all in white, and process around the school  in the dark with lighted candles and plastic lilies, chanting in Latin, Immaculata, Immaculata, for the feast of the Immaculate Conception. This was in the 1970s, not the 1790s. Eventually Health and Safety caught up with the candles, and they were replaced by torches with the lens covered in coloured crepe paper. Not nearly as much fun...

Steve's father's birthday was today too. He would have been 102, I think.

In the present time, it was Christmas Jumper day. That means that people wear a Christmas jumper (sweater) to the office and then give some money to charity. I wore the same Christmas jumper I've had for about a decade, because the ones with crazy patterns on them make my head spin. We also had a leaving do for a guy from Reception. I think he's going back to singing on cruise ships, now that they are operating again. He joked that he'll be cruising the Gloucester and Sharpness canal.

In the evening I attended a Christmas party for the charity I used to work for. (That reminds me, I must sign up for some Saturday shifts. It wouldn't kill me to get put about with some youngsters again). There was food aplenty, so much so that I got to take some home for tomorrow night.

And now I'm keeping toasty in bed, with a heavy little cat asleep on my chest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.