Let There Be Snow in the Scotia Barrens!

It was just starting to snow when I left the house, and I was finally headed to the one place I really wanted to go, but didn't, for the past two weeks. The Scotia Barrens is one of my favorite hiking spots, but it's been the main rifle deer hunting season here, and we thought it safest to stay out of the gamelands for a while.

I had my pink umbrella and my tunes box, and I was HAPPY. Purely, truly happy, the simple way a person can be, with no real agenda, anticipating great beauties, heading to a favorite spot, walking in the snow. It felt timeless. As the snow increased, it was like walking in a snow globe.

There was water in the first little pond, my favorite pond. (I'm saying favorite a lot, aren't I!? Because it's TRUE!) The snowflakes became fat and heavy, and they splashed in the water, making concentric circles that hit each other, intercepted, bounced off, replicated, made more. I was contented, watching the patterns, taking pictures. Zen here in the woods.

I decided to use this photo for the day because it shows my little private portal into the Barrens. There's snow, but there are shadow-spots where it isn't, because of the trees' protection. That's the path ahead. My little pond is to the right. Beauty awaits ahead; go find it! But be sure to duck when you go under those branches, lest you get snow down your neck!

Milestone: This snow photo represents my 4015th Blip, which is to say the marker for 11 years of no-days-missed, every-shot-taken-on-the-day Blip posting. I would like to thank you all for popping in to say Hi on this day. The way I've explained Blip to non-Blippers is this: You try to find a single beautiful thing to photograph each and every day. It almost sounds like a noble calling, doesn't it?

If you stop by my journal, you'll typically find one photo, one story, and one soundtrack song. My song for this day is Let There Be Snow, from Frosty Returns.

And as for T. Tiger and me, and all the rest of the gang who show up in my photos, we are sending out peace, love, and butterflies, from central Pennsylvania! Now, let's carry on Blipping, shall we?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.